Colin Kaepernick Wins Award for ‘Inspirational and Courageous Play’

Colin Kaepernick Wins Award for ‘Inspirational and Courageous Play’

An award from his 49ers teammates

Denise Jones
posted by at Dec 30, 2016 at 6:02 pm
administrator at hubwav

Colin Kaepernick received the Len Eshmont Award, which commemorates Eshmont’s “inspirational and courageous” play. The 49ers most prestigious award was voted to go to Kaepernick by his teammates, and although the quarterback received much scrutiny for siting down during the national anthem back in August, as he announced that he “would not stand up to show pride in a flag for a country that oppresses Black people and people of color.”

Kaepernick’s stance did not go without receiving backlash and sparking discussion on the matter, but the bold action also inspired others to speak up on the issue that is still prevalent in the country.

Teammates vote Colin Kaepernick for 49ers’ most prestigious award | via Sports Illustrated: After a season full of controversy, scrutiny and stalwart protest, quarterback Colin Kaepernick won the 49ers’ Len Eshmont award, as voted on by his teammates. The team’s website describes the award as the 49ers’ “most prestigious annual honor, has been given each year to the 49ers player who best exemplifies the ‘inspirational and courageous play’ of Len Eshmont.” Kaepernick’s award would seem to quash any doubt regarding his support within the locker room, after he opted to kneel during the national anthem all season in protest of police brutality and racial inequalities in the United States. He was panned by many prominent figures despite repeatedly stating he was not intending to disrespect the military with his actions. He was joined by teammates @e_reid35 and @eliharold_. Kaepernick also recovered from several injuries to regain his starting job, making every start since Week 6. Eshmont was a member of the original 49ers squad in 1946, and scored the first touchdown in team history. He died in 1957 of Hepatitis, after which the award was created.

A photo posted by Know Your Rights Camp (@yourrightscamp) on

Previous recipients of the award include Niners greats like Joe Montana, Jerry Rice, and Steve Young.

Photograph Via ESPN