Instagram Flagging Users That Screenshots Stories

Instagram Flagging Users That Screenshots Stories

Thanks to Instagram for making my part-time FBI agent gig that much harder!

Felicia Michelle
posted by at Feb 12, 2018 at 1:48 pm
editor at hubwav

Okay, so my world as I know it may possibly be ending! This is truly a betrayal by my favorite social media app. Instagram, who is a part of the Facebook family, is testing out a feature that identifies users who take screenshots of public Instagram stories. Bad enough Instagram already identifies users that take screenshots of photos or videos that are sent as a direct message. However, this new feature, which seems to be another idea stolen from Snapchat’s platform, hasn’t been turned on for all users just yet.

Many user’s anxiety levels about the change are high, mines included. Instagram acknowledges that this is a simple test of the new feature. Some users from the select group have been greeted by a pop-up warning from the app, stating “Next time you take a screenshot or screen recording, the person who posted the story will be able to see it.”

Gasp! The Stories features already provide information about who has been watching your story in the “seen by” icon. With this new feature, a circle shutter icon will now appear next to their name if they screenshot your content. However, there will be no formal alert to a user when someone does take the initial screenshot. From the reviews pouring in it doesn’t seem like users are appreciating the change. I get it, everyone just wants to creep in peace.